Race Review: Tulsa Run 2015

Disclaimer: I received an entry into the Tulsa Run thanks to Bibrave‘s BibRavePro ambassadorship. You can learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro & check out BibRave.com to find, read and write race reviews.

I’ve been super excited about running my first race as a BibRave Pro since becoming an ambassador about six months. The opportunity to do so at this year’s Tulsa Run was even more exciting because the race fell on Halloween Day! I really wanted to dress up for this race but I wasn’t sure what to do for a costume that would also incorporate my BibRave tank top. Then I found this:

16515-large

And turned it into this:

IMG_3780

I’ve never run in a costume like this before, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. It turned out to be much more comfortable than you’d think!

Pre-Race

The Tulsa Run offered a same-day bib pick-up the morning of the race. I was very grateful for this option because it saved me a round trip car ride of 4-5 hours from Norman. In addition, the process could not have been any easier! They had computers to quickly check my registration and a separate table where I could collect my race shirt. Another benefit of the early pick up was having no line at the porta-potties. Awesome!

IMG_3778

No lines at the bathrooms!

IMG_3776

Race day pick-up was smooth & easy

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3784The Tulsa Run is a multi-event race, meaning there was a 2K, 5K as well as the 15K that I ran. They staggered the starts so that the 2K/5K started at 8:00 and the 15K started at 9:00. I’ve read that some participants did not like the later start for the 15K, but for me, it was one of the best parts of this race. I enjoyed watching the large crowd of runners start the earlier race and I think it was a great way to manage their resources and and keep runner traffic moving smoothly.

IMG_3785I got to meet up with my fellow BibRave Pros, Sarah and Cassie, before the race. The race director took a few minutes to speak with us before the race and told us about the new hydration system they were using for the first time. It’s called the WaterMonster and can hold up to 125 gallons of water at time. This would greatly reduce waste associated with using plastic water bottles. Cool.
Race Time!

IMG_7262The race itself was extremely enjoyable. The course is very challenging, especially for someone who may not train on hills very often (like me…). The crowd support along the course was fantastic. People sat out on their driveways and cheered for everyone. The three aid-stations along the course were well-stocked with both water and Gatorade. There was a turn-around point on the course at about mile 4 that enabled me to see the Masters leaders heading back toward the finish downtown.

I felt great through the 10K mark, but realized at that point that I had accidentally left my race fuel in the trunk of my car. (Oops.) I definitely slowed down at that point and was ready to be done. There were a few really steep hill in the last 3K that I probably could have walked up faster than I “ran”. Coming into the finish, I could hear the music and the cheering echo through the city streets. Random people yelled out, “Go Candycorn!” I smiled and waved every time I heard them. It felt like the end of a marathon! It was pretty awesome.

Post-Race

The WaterMonster let us refill our bottles as needed.

The WaterMonster let us refill our bottles as needed.

Immediately after crossing the finish line, we were given our glow-in-the-dark finisher’s medal. Water bottles and a box of post-race food were offered to every runner as well. A WaterMonster station was located at the finish that enabled runners to refill their water bottles. I think this probably prevented runners from grabbing multiple bottles at the finish, therefore avoiding the terrible situation of not having enough bottles to offer runners finishing later. Gear check had moved our belongings from the start line to the finish line a few blocks away. It was pretty cold after the race so I was grateful to not have to walk far to get my change of clothes! There was DJ on a stage keeping the post-race party going strong and a massage tent offered free massages to runners.

Save the Date!

Save the Date!

I am not sure how I missed this race for the last 7 years I have lived in Oklahoma, but I am so glad I found it now! I look forward to running it again next year. Fortunately, the post-race food box also served as a Save the Date reminder!

IMG_3786

Finish!

For more information about the Tulsa Run, check out my BibRave review here.

 

About presentlyrunning

I am a teacher, mother, runner and friend. I am the director of the Norman chapter of RunHers, an organization that encourages women to pursue their own version of health and happiness. Follow me @presentlyrun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Race Review: Tulsa Run 2015

  1. Ginna says:

    Super cute costume!!

    Like

  2. Julia says:

    Great recap and awesome costume! Looked like so much fun 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

