Product Review: Orange Mud Hydraquiver

“Disclaimer: I received the Orange Mud Hydraquiver Vest Pack 1 to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”IMG_4069Since discovering distance running 16 years ago, I have struggled with managing my hydration and nutrition during training. Initially, I just set out water at predetermined points. Although it’s still a strategy I use from time to time, I discovered that my body needed more frequent hydration during my runs so I graduated to carrying disposable water bottles with me instead. Then the invention of the handheld reusable water bottle came into my life. I thought this was the perfect solution for me, until I realized how heavy even an empty 16-ounce water bottle could feel at the end of a 20 mile run, not to mention how much it can negatively impact my running form. So I bought a hydration belt that allowed me to clip a few 10-ounce water bottles to my waist. But the belt never stayed on my hips, always riding up and down my waist and annoying the heck out of me. Plus it didn’t really have any room for my gels or chomps. I was thrilled with the opportunity to try an Orange Mud Hydraquiver Vest Pack 1!

I must admit, I was a little nervous about using a hydration vest. I was not sure how comfortable such a device would feel on my shoulders or how well it would fit me around my chest. I was concerned that it might be too tight and constrict my breathing or uncomfortably hang over my shoulders and make me feel weighted down. The last thing I wanted was to feel like I was running with a heavy backpack! Luckily, that was not the case at all.

The first thing I noticed about the Orange Mud Hydraquiver Vest Pack 1 was how thoughtfully packaged it was. I opened up the box to find this:

 

IMG_4151How cool is that?!? Upon closer inspection, it is extremely lightweight yet has thick padding and large air channels that allow maximum breathe-ability when you start heating up on a run. I’ve worn it in both hot and cold conditions and found it to be equally comfortable in both environments. Furthermore, I had no chafing issues at all when I wore it on a 6 mile run in a tank top!

It is super easy to wear: just slip your arms through the holes and snap in front! There are two adjustable straps that fall just under the armpit. They can control how tight the vest is around your upper torso. Any access slack can be tucked inside the clasp as shown below:

IMG_4080

Although the vest clips on top of the breast, the weight is actually carried entirely on the shoulders. Two pieces of material fall on top of the high breast area but are in no way constricting. My son even tried it on and wanted to see how easy it was to reach for the bottle:

I had high hopes that I would find the Orange Mud Hydraquiver just as easy to use on my runs as my 6 year old son did in our living room! I was not disappointed! Not only does the BPA-free bottle hold 25-ounces of the liquid of my choice, but it is a lot easier to clean than any hydration bladder would be. The Hydraquiver also has several individual pockets for my gels, chomps, keys, and phone that can be secured with a zipper pull.

IMG_4191

Bottom line: this is a new piece of gear that will be joining on every long run in the future. I love having my hands free and no belt sloshing up and down around my waist.

See what my fellow BibRave Pros think about the Orange Mud Hydraquiver Vest Pack 1:

Amy        Angie      Brad        Jessica      Sarah M.    Heather

Elizabeth     Jenny

About presentlyrunning

I am a teacher, mother, runner and friend. I am the director of the Norman chapter of RunHers, an organization that encourages women to pursue their own version of health and happiness. Follow me @presentlyrun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Product Review: Orange Mud Hydraquiver

  1. Pingback: Orange Mud Hydraquiver Vest Pack 1 – Review | Angie Runs

Leave a Reply

